To Top

17 soldiers killed in Delta buried

The Nigerian Army on Wednesday buried 17 of its personnel at the National Military Cemetery, Abuja who were killed on March 14 in Okuama community, Delta State.

The troops of 181 Amphibious Batallion in Bomadi Local Government Area of Delta State were reportedly on a peace mission following communal clash when they were killed.

The deceased comprised one lieutenant colonel, two majors, one captain and 13 soldiers.

President Bola Tinubu led top government officials, including service chiefs and other heads of security agencies, to the solemn event.

Chief of Army Staff Lt-General Taoreed Lagbaja assured the family members of the slain servicemen of the military’s support.

Lagbaja disclosed that the slain personnel left behind 10 widows, three of whom are pregnant, and also 21 orphans.

Tinubu, the special guest of honour, conferred national honours on the deceased.

The four ranking officers were awarded the Member of the Order of Niger (MON) honour. The remaining 13 officers were awarded the Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON) honour.

Tinubu also announced the provision of housing facilities for the surviving family members and scholarships for all their children to the university level.

He directed the payment of death benefits to the family members within 90 days.

The president said: “It is now our duty to protect the families of our departed heroes. The Federal Government will provide a house in any part of our country to each of the families of the four officers and 13 soldiers. The Federal Government has also approved scholarships to all the children of the deceased up to the university level.”

More in News Nile